Additional Rules from the Rulebook
The card you gain must be from the Supply and is put into your discard pile. You get a bonus depending on what type of card you gained. A card with 2 types gives you both bonuses; if you use Ironworks to gain a Great Hall, you will then draw a card (because Great Hall is a Victory card) and may play another Action (because Great Hall is an Action card). Costs of cards are affected by Bridge.
The Secret History of Ironworks
In an article on Board Game Geek, Donald X. Vaccarino commented on the development of Ironworks:
- A somewhat late card, although still from prior to development. I designed it specifically to interact with the cards with two types. As it happens it only interacts with one such card in this set. But the card is cool anyway. Kelly was the one who suggested the template used to squeeze the text from this and Tribute onto the cards in a readable fashion.