Additional Rules from the Rulebook
If you choose to trash 2 cards and have 2 or more cards in your hand after playing the Steward, then you must trash exactly 2 cards. You may choose to trash 2 cards, even if you only have 1 card left in your hand after playing the Steward; just trash the remaining card in your hand. You cannot mix and match - you either draw 2 cards, get 2 coins, or trash 2 cards.
The Secret History of Steward
In an article on Board Game Geek, Donald X. Vaccarino commented on the development of Steward:
- The first version of this gave you a choice between +2 Actions/Buys/Cards/coins. It wasn't interesting enough, so I traded in the Actions and Buys for trashing two cards.